Parliament Appoints Two Deputy PMs

Parliament Appoints Two Deputy PMs

The National Assembly appointed Daniela Bobeva and Tsvetlin Yovchev as deputy prime ministers on Thursday amid continuing anti-government protests.
The nominations of Yovchev and Bobeva were backed by the MPs of the Socialists’ Coalition for Bulgaria and the ethnic Turks’ Movement for Rights and Freedoms.
The nominations were due to be put to the vote a day earlier but the parliamentary sitting was cancelled due to lack of quorum after ultra nationalist party Ataka failed to show up.

Speaking to journalists in Brussels later in the day, prime minister Plamen Oresharski said he does not plan to resign as long as he has the support of the National Assembly, the Bulgarian News Agency reported. "[…] a political mistake has been made, as a result of which we gave reasons, but I do not think that this is a reason for resignation [of the government]," Oresharski said. 

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
Cookies Preferences
Choose Type of Cookies You Accept Using

These cookies are required for the website to run and cannot be switched off. Such cookie are only set in response to actions made by you such as language, currency, login session, privacy preferences. You can set your browser to block these cookies but our site may not work then.

These cookies allow us to measure visitors traffic and see traffic sources by collecting information in data sets. They also help us understand which products and actions are more popular than others.

These cookies are usually set by our marketing and advertising partners. They may be used by them to build a profile of your interest and later show you relevant ads. If you do not allow these cookies you will not experience targeted ads for your interests.