Bulgaria To Have 18 Seats in European Parliament as of Dec 1

Bulgaria To Have 18 Seats in European Parliament as of Dec 1

Bulgaria will have 18 seats in the European Parliament as Svetoslav Malinov of the opposition Blue Coalition will become Member of the European Parliament (MEP).

The change is made in compliance with the Lisbon Treaty, the Bulgarian News Agency (BTA) reported on Tuesday.

Currently, Bulgaria's ruling centre-right party GERB is represented by five MEPs, the Bulgarian Socialist Party has four representatives, the Movement for Rights and Freedoms has three, the far-right party Ataka and the National Movement for Surge and Stability have two each. After the changes, the Blue Coalition will have two MEPs as well.

"In times like these it is important for Bulgaria to have another representative in the European Parliament," BTA quoted Malinov as saying.

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
Cookies Preferences
Choose Type of Cookies You Accept Using

These cookies are required for the website to run and cannot be switched off. Such cookie are only set in response to actions made by you such as language, currency, login session, privacy preferences. You can set your browser to block these cookies but our site may not work then.

These cookies allow us to measure visitors traffic and see traffic sources by collecting information in data sets. They also help us understand which products and actions are more popular than others.

These cookies are usually set by our marketing and advertising partners. They may be used by them to build a profile of your interest and later show you relevant ads. If you do not allow these cookies you will not experience targeted ads for your interests.