Bulgaria Ahead Of May 25 Elections For European Parliament

Bulgaria Ahead Of May 25 Elections For European Parliament

Bulgarians will go to the polls on Sunday to elect 17 members of the 751-seat European Parliament (EP).
Bulgaria joined the European Union in 2007 and held its first EP vote the same year. Two years later Bulgarians again voted to elect members of the  European Parliament (MEPs).
A total of 6.5 million Bulgarian citizens aged 18 and over are eligible to vote in Sunday's elections.
According to recent surveys, BSP and GERB are running shoulder-to-shoulder in the race, comfortably ahead of the other candidates. A total of four  Bulgarian parties are expected to cross the 5.88% threshold for entry into EP. The European Parliament is elected for a five-year term. Representation is proportional and the number of seats is allocated in correspondence to the population of each member state. Voters will cast ballots in some 11,500 polling stations in Bulgaria and 167 stations abroad. A total of 313 candidates will run for MEPs in Bulgaria. Polling stations open at 6 a.m. local time (0500 CET) on Sunday and close at 7 p.m. (1800 CET).

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this
Cookies Preferences
Choose Type of Cookies You Accept Using

These cookies are required for the website to run and cannot be switched off. Such cookie are only set in response to actions made by you such as language, currency, login session, privacy preferences. You can set your browser to block these cookies but our site may not work then.

These cookies allow us to measure visitors traffic and see traffic sources by collecting information in data sets. They also help us understand which products and actions are more popular than others.

These cookies are usually set by our marketing and advertising partners. They may be used by them to build a profile of your interest and later show you relevant ads. If you do not allow these cookies you will not experience targeted ads for your interests.